Skip to main contentSkip to main navigationSkip to footer content

About UA Rich Mountain

The University of Arkansas Rich Mountain continues the tradition of being a comprehensive community college providing a broad range of educational programs and learning opportunities in the three county service area.  In 2017, when the merger with the University of Arkansas System was finalized, the college name changed to the University of Arkansas Rich Mountain.  During the decision making process, the RMCC Board of Trustees and administrators wanted to retain the identity we had as Rich Mountain Community College since 1983 and as Rich Mountain Vo-Tech with its beginnings in 1973.  With over forty years of presence in the service area, UA Rich Mountain has been at the forefront of progress. Its mission to provide educational opportunities for the region continues to guide programming, services, and involvement in its communities. 

The service area of Polk, Montgomery, and Scott counties remains the same as does the College mission.  The main campus is in Mena with permanent off-campus sites in Mount Ida and Waldron.

UA Rich Mountain faculty and staff are commited to student success.  During the most recent 2014 Higher Learning Commission visit, the visiting team commented that it was evident to them the College “lives the mission.”  In the 2004 HLC accreditation report, the College was recognized as “a model rural community college.”

UA Rich Mountain provides transformative education to all learners.

You, too, can join the tradition!